The Grace of Wild Things

Heather Fawcett

Book cover for The Grace of Wild Things
Book cover for The Grace of Wild Things

The Grace of Wild Things

The Grace of Wild Things

Heather Fawcett

  • Become a member to save 50% off your first order and then 30% on all future orders. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$19.99$10.00
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Log in to access your Membership or Book Club price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time
View full details

Description

An inventive and fantastical reimagining of Anne of Green Gables--with magic and witches!--that explores found family, loss, and the power of a girl's imagination, from the acclaimed author of The Language of Ghosts and The School Between Winter and Fairyland. Perfect for readers who loved The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Serafina and the Black Cloak.

Grace has never been good at anything except magic--not that anyone believes her.

While other children are adopted from the orphanage, nobody wants Grace. So she decides to make a home for herself by running away and offering herself as an apprentice to the witch in the nearby woods. After all, who better to teach Grace to use her magic? Surely the witch can't be that bad.

But the witch is that bad--she steals souls for spells and gobbles up hearts. So Grace offers a deal: If she can learn all 1001/2 spells in the witch's grimoire, the witch will make Grace her apprentice. But if Grace fails, the witch can take her magic. The witch agrees, and soon an unexpected bond develops between them.

But the spells are much harder than Grace expected, and when a monster from the witch's past threatens the home Grace has built, she may have to sacrifice more than her magic to save it.

Critical Reviews

"A magical, witchy, and thoroughly successful homage to a classic." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An exuberant tale of belonging and hope." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This alternative-universe romp is perfect for those who like their fantasy light and sentimental and enjoy a bit of L. M. Montgomery pastiche." -- The Horn Book

Publishing Information

Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Pub date: 2023-02-14
Length: 368 pages

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.