Daughters of Olympus

Hannah Lynn

New New
Book cover for Daughters of Olympus
Book cover for Daughters of Olympus

Daughters of Olympus

Daughters of Olympus

Hannah Lynn

  • Become a member to save 50% off your first order and then 30% on all future orders. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$17.99$9.00
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Log in to access your Membership or Book Club price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time
View full details

Description

A daughter pulled between two worlds and a mother willing to destroy both to protect her...

Demeter: a goddess of life, living half of one.

Demeter did not always live in fear. Once, she loved the world and the humans who inhabited it. After an act of devastating violence, though, she hides herself away among the grasses and wildflowers. Her only solace is her daughter...

Before she was Persephone, she was Core.

Core is as bright as summer and devoted to her mother, even during their millennia in exile from Olympus. But she craves freedom. Naïve and determined, she secretly builds a life of her own--and as she does so, she catches the eye of a powerful god...

The daughters of Olympus will have the last word...

Then Hades kidnaps Core and renames her as Queen of the Underworld. In the land without sun, she realizes she may have a chance to gain back what she thought she'd lost forever. But Demeter will destroy anything--even the humans she holds so dear--to bring her daughter back. A mother who has lost everything and a daughter with more to gain than she ever realized, they will irrevocably shape the world: all in the name of something as human as love.

A lush, emotional read perfect for fans of Madeleine Miller and Claire Heywood, this is the story of Persephone and Demeter.

Critical Reviews

"With her latest novel, Hannah Lynn demonstrates her deep knowledge of mythology and mastery of storytelling. Her rich, vivid details transport readers to an ancient world, one alive with danger and great magic. Although they are goddesses, both Demeter and Core/Persephone are still women, desperate to forge their own paths and make their own choices in a patriarchal world that stymies them at every turn. Daughters of Olympus is both a celebration of women, and a testament to the importance of perspective--the untold and underappreciated stories." -- Lauren J.A. Bear, author of Medusa's Sisters

"With vibrant prose and decadent world building, Daughters of Olympus is a magical feast for the senses. This stirring retelling peels back the layers of myth surrounding Demeter and Persephone to touch upon their most human core. It is a stunning testament to the destructive and healing power of love to move the very earth." -- A.D. Rhine, author of Horses of Fire

"Lynn...brings a fresh perspective to the familiar myth of Hades and Persephone. Her writing is full of lush detail and thoughtful explorations of both motherhood and womanhood, and both women's stories are highlighted through alternating perspectives. Lynn is a rising star in the world of mythology-based fiction; suggest this to fans of Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes." -- Booklist, STARRED review

"A gripping exploration of love, loss, and the power of rage, Daughters of Olympus teems with the fervor of a mother, the devotion of a daughter, and the passion of lovers. Twining through these surprisingly human relationships, readers will discover a brew of gods intent on ownership and connection and, for some, growth. This story will keep you turning pages and leave you wanting more." -- Malayna Evans, author of Neferura

"Hannah Lynn takes an old tale and makes it new with her brilliant retelling of Demeter and Persephone. A novel that is at once tender and rage-filled, this story delves deep into the complexities of the mother-daughter relationship in a beautifully rendered world of gods, monsters, and mortals. This is a book you'll be thinking about long after you've finished the last page! A must-read." -- Megan Barnard, author of Jezebel

"Vibrant...This stands out from the pack of feminist takes on Greek mythology." -- Publishers Weekly

Publishing Information

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Pub date: 2024-07-09
Length: 448 pages

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.