My Hair Is Like the Sun

St Clair Detrick-Jules, Tabitha Brown

Book cover for My Hair Is Like the Sun
Book cover for My Hair Is Like the Sun

My Hair Is Like the Sun

My Hair Is Like the Sun

St Clair Detrick-Jules, Tabitha Brown

  • Become a member to save 30% on all book orders, plus a variety of great perks. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$8.99$4.50
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Already a member? Log In To Access Member Price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time. Learn More

Description

AS SEEN ON THE TODAY SHOW!
A 2023 Good Housekeeping Kids Book Award Winner
A 2023 Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book

From the creator of My Beautiful Black Hair, this joyful board book celebrates the natural beauty of Black hair in all its shapes, styles, and textures!

My hair is like the sun . . . the stars . . . the ocean! From curls that wind like rivers to coils that shimmer like stars, this book featuring photographs of real children and their natural hairstyles encourages little ones to see themselves reflected in the wonders of nature. Tenderly written and stunningly photographed by St. Clair Detrick-Jules, and with vibrant illustrations by Tabitha Brown, this timeless book shares a sweet and powerful message of self-love.

CELEBRATE BLACK JOY: These sweet rhymes and simple metaphors empower young children of color and serve as beautiful morning affirmations or a bedtime lullaby to build confidence and self-esteem.

FUN AND PHOTOGRAPHIC: Babies love looking at other babies! By presenting photographs of real kids with real hair textures and shapes, this book offers children of color a powerful sense of recognition and affirmation.

DIVERSITY AT HOME AND SCHOOL: With beautiful photographs and joyous, flowing text, this book will be a welcome addition to any nursery bookshelf, preschool classroom, or library.

Perfect for:
  • Parents and grandparents seeking positive children's self-esteem books
  • Fans of Hair Love and Black Girl Magic
  • Baby shower and birthday gift givers
  • Preschool teachers and librarians
  • Anyone looking for empowering board books by Black creators

About the Author

St. Clair Detrick-Jules is an award-winning filmmaker, photographer, author, activist, and speaker. She has been featured in the Washington Post, Washingtonian magazine, BuzzFeed News, the Christian Science Monitor, NPR's Strange Fruit, and elsewhere. She is the author of My Beautiful Black Hair, which showcases photographs and stories of Black women embracing their crowns. Detrick-Jules currently resides in her hometown of Washington, D.C.

Tabitha Brown is an illustrator who blends drawings, found textures, and vintage papers to create unique digital collage pieces. She received a BFA in illustration from the American Academy of Art, in Chicago, and her work has been featured by the Huffington Post, Design Milk, Decor8, Modish, and Afrolicious. Brown is based in Illinois.

Publishing Information

Publisher: Chronicle Books
Pub date: 2023-09-12
Length: 20 pages
View full details

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.