My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)

Susan Tan, Wendy Tan Shiau Wei

Book cover for My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)
Book cover for My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)
Book cover for My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)
Book cover for My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)

My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)

My Kingdom of Darkness: A Branches Book (Pets Rule! #1)

Susan Tan, Wendy Tan Shiau Wei

  • Become a member to save 30% on all book orders, plus a variety of great perks. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
30% off all orders With membership
Member Book Price
$6.99$3.50
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Already a member? Log In To Access Member Price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time. Learn More

Description

Pets, hilarity, and plots for world domination come together in Pets Rule!, an early chapter book series perfect for fans of The Secret Life of Pets!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and stamina. Branches books help readers grow!

Meet Ember, a rescue Chihuahua who has just been adopted by the Chin family. Ember is no ordinary dog: he thinks he is an evil overlord, destined to rule the world. He enlists the help of the other pets in the house, like Smelly Steve the hamster and Neo the canary, to take over the neighborhood. Their first mission is defeating Masher, the mean squirrel who lives next door. But to his shock, Ember finds himself growing attached to his "minions", the Chin family--especially Lucy. Does Ember still have what it takes to control of the neighborhood... and the world?

With laugh-out-loud humor, engaging artwork on every page, and nonstop action that will have readers rushing to turn the pages, Pets Rule is the just-right series for any emerging reader!

"This early chapter book expertly cultivates a larger-than-life pseudo-antihero... an infectiously silly series starter." -- Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

SUSAN TAN has lived in many places in her life, but calls Concord, Massachusetts, home. After studying at Williams College, she earned her PhD from the University of Cambridge, where she studied children's literature. She currently lives in Somerville, enjoys frequent trips to Chinatown to eat tzuck sang, and teaches at the University of Massachusetts, Boston. Susan is the author of the Cilla Lee-Jenkins chapter book series, and the Pets Rule! series.
WENDY TAN SHIAU WEI is a visual development and storyboard artist for animated series, advertising, and films, and an illustrator for children's books and publishing. Her work can be seen in TV commercials, radio stations, advertisements, shows, publishing, and fashion. Wendy loves telling stories through her work; storyboarding and comics are two of the ways she expresses her thoughts and feelings. She lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia with her family.

Publishing Information

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Pub date: 2022-06-28
Length: 96 pages
View full details

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.