One in a Million

Janet Dailey

Book cover for One in a Million
Book cover for One in a Million

One in a Million

One in a Million

Janet Dailey

  • Become a member to save 30% on all book orders, plus a variety of great perks. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$27.00$13.50
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Already a member? Log In To Access Member Price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time. Learn More

Description

Yellowstone meets Dallas against the backdrop of Texas horse country, as the death of a patriarch leaves his rich and powerful ranching family dynasty at odds, a high-stakes reining competition in the balance, and forbidden attractions in the mix.

Fans of Linda Lael Miller, Danielle Steel, and Diana Palmer will devour this soapy saga filled to the brim with Texas-style drama, corruption, money, and sizzling affairs.

Frank Culhane may be the wealthy patriarch of one of Texas' most prestigious families, but his party girl daughter, Jasmine, is only interested in the money the ranch brings in--and the cowboys. Until the day she heads to the stables in search of their hot horse trainer and instead discovers her daddy's body in their prize stallion's box stall.

Roper's rodeo career was cut short by an injury. Now, he's hungry to compete in reining events, like the prized forthcoming Run for a Million. In the meantime, until his family can afford their own breeding business, he's got to work for the rich ranchers who snub them--including the Culhanes. But when an autopsy reveals Frank was murdered, Roper lands on the list of possible suspects.

A city outsider, Detective Sam Rafferty's investigation propels him into a tangle of simmering rivalries. For the ranch is now in the hands of an explosive partnership: Frank's young, glamourous second wife, Lila, and his scorned first wife, Madeline. Lila has a genuine passion for ranching. Madeline is determined to destroy her.

Through Sam's interviews, more tensions surface--there are Madeline's grown children who've been bypassed for control of the ranch, the socially dismissed McKennas, and the breeders, politicians, and gangsters ready to profit from Frank's death. But tricky alliances are also brewing. While Lila and Roper clash, they discover a fire beneath their sparring. And with a killer still at large, the heat between Jasmine and Sam could put the case, and all their futures, on the line . . .

About the Author

Janet Dailey was born and raised in the small farming town of Storm Lake, Iowa and attended secretarial school in Omaha, Nebraska before meeting her husband and settling in southern Missouri. After publishing her first novel in 1976, she went on to become one of the top-selling female authors in the world, with more than 325 million copies of her books sold in nineteen languages in ninety-eight countries. Dubbed "America's First Lady of Romance" because her groundbreaking novels celebrate the triumphs and struggles of working class women with American values and themes, she is known for her strong, decisive characters, her extraordinary ability to re-create a time and a place, and her unerring courage to confront important, controversial issues in her stories. To learn more about Janet Dailey and her novels, please visit JanetDailey.com or find her on Facebook at Facebook.com/JanetDaileyAuthor.

Publishing Information

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation
Pub date: 2024-01-23
Length: 336 pages
View full details

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.