The Writing Retreat

Julia Bartz

Book cover for The Writing Retreat
Book cover for The Writing Retreat
Book cover for The Writing Retreat
Book cover for The Writing Retreat
Book cover for The Writing Retreat
Book cover for The Writing Retreat

The Writing Retreat

The Writing Retreat

Julia Bartz

  • Become a member to save 30% on all book orders, plus a variety of great perks. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$17.00$8.50
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Already a member? Log In To Access Member Price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time. Learn More

Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Sex, suspense, and the supernatural fuel this propulsive debut." --People

A young author is invited to an exclusive writer's retreat that soon descends into a pulse-pounding nightmare--in the vein of The Plot and Please Join Us.

Alex has all but given up on her dreams of becoming a published author when she receives a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity: attend an exclusive, month-long writing retreat at the estate of feminist horror writer Roza Vallo. Even the knowledge that Wren, her former best friend and current rival, is attending doesn't dampen her excitement.

But when the attendees arrive, Roza drops a bombshell--they must all complete an entire novel from scratch during the next month, and the author of the best one will receive a life-changing seven-figure publishing deal. Determined to win this seemingly impossible contest, Alex buckles down and tries to ignore the strange happenings at the estate, including Roza's erratic behavior, Wren's cruel mind games, and the alleged haunting of the mansion itself. But when one of the writers vanishes during a snowstorm, Alex realizes that something very sinister is afoot. With the clock running out, she must discover the truth--or suffer the same fate.

A claustrophobic and propulsive thriller that "will keep you up all night with its intriguing premise and gasp-worthy twists" (Kirthana Ramisetti, author of Dava Shastri's Last Day), The Writing Retreat expertly explores the dark side of female relationships, fame, and the desire to have our stories told.

About the Author

Julia Bartz is the New York Times bestselling author of The Writing Retreat, a practicing therapist, and a creative coach. Her fiction writing has appeared in The South Dakota Review, InDigest Magazine, and more. She lives in Brooklyn. Connect with her on social media @JuliaBartz.

Publishing Information

Publisher: Atria Books
Pub date: 2024-01-09
Length: 320 pages
View full details

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.