What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator

Barbara Butcher

Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator
Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator
Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator
Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator
Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator
Book cover for What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator

What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator

What the Dead Know: Learning about Life as a New York City Death Investigator

Barbara Butcher

  • Become a member to save 30% on all book orders, plus a variety of great perks. Simply add any book to cart and you’ll see an option to become a member
  • 100% of this book's profits go to our community of authors.
Get 50% off your first order, and then 30% off everything
Member Book Price
$28.99$14.50
Monthly Membership
First month free, renews at $5.00
$0.00

Already a member? Log In To Access Member Price

  • Allstora Membership will renew at $5/month, cancel any time. Learn More

Description

A "remarkably candid and sensitive" (The Wall Street Journal) memoir of more than twenty years of death-scene investigations by New York City death investigator Barbara Butcher.

Barbara Butcher was early in her recovery from alcoholism when she found an unexpected lifeline: a job at the Medical Examiner's Office in New York City. The second woman ever hired for the role of Death Investigator in Manhattan, she was the first to last more than three months. The work was gritty, demanding, morbid, and sometimes dangerous--and she loved it.

Butcher (yes, that's her real name, and she has heard all the jokes) spent day in and day out investigating double homicides, gruesome suicides, and most heartbreaking of all, underage rape victims who had also been murdered. In What the Dead Know, she writes with the kind of New York attitude and bravado you might expect from decades in the field, investigating more than 5,500 death scenes, 680 of which were homicides. In the opening chapter, she describes how just from sheer luck of having her arm in a cast, she avoided a boobytrapped suicide. Later in her career, she describes working the nation's largest mass murder, the attack on 9/11, where she and her colleagues initially relied on family members' descriptions to help distinguish among the 21,900 body parts of the victims.

This is the "breathtakingly honest, compassionate, and raw" (Patricia Cornwell), "completely unputdownable" (Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author of The Good Left Undone) real-life story of a woman who, in dealing with death every day, learned surprising lessons about life--and how some of those lessons saved her from becoming a statistic herself. Fans of Kathy Reichs, Patricia Cornwell, and true crime won't be able to put this down.

Publishing Information

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Pub date: 2023-06-20
Length: 288 pages
View full details

The Allstora Membership

Membership Perks:

  • Save 30% on all online store purchases
  • Exclusive access to author's content
  • You pay less, but authors still earn double

Membership Terms:

First Month: $0.00
Monthly price: $5.00
  • To access membership discount simply log in and add to cart, discount applied automatically.
  • One month free trial, cancel anytime. Membership renews on the 15th of each month.